English Chinese (Simplified) French German Japanese Russian Spanish


Pacific Island Trade & Invest and The South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) administer this website and content is provided by both Pacific Island Trade & Invest and SPTO and their partners. Both organisations provide free advice, and investment facilitation pertaining to the Pacific Islands. See below for more information about both organisations.

Pacific Islands Trade & Invest

Pacific Island Trade and Invest is the international trade and investment promotion arm of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS) based in Fiji. We have offices in Sydney (Australia), Beijing (China), Tokyo (Japan) and Auckland (New Zealand). We work towards our vision to create international opportunities for Pacific Islands businesses in order to build a better future through more sustainable communities and greater prosperity.  Our mission is to contribute to the sustainable economic development of the Pacific Islands countries by creating opportunities for successful connections for exporters, investors and stakeholder organisations. We are the only Pacific Islands agency tasked by leaders to develop, grow and promote industry and the businesses of all 14 Pacific Island countries in export, investment and tourism promotion across international markets. Pacific Island Trade and Invest's Tourism Program focuses on delivering innovative programs that help support, develop and promote the region's tourism businesses, particularly in the areas of distribution and market access, marketing and promotion, and investment attraction. We work directly with tourism-ready operators in the region to provide them with new opportunities for growth and success, whether that is through providing them with training opportunities, marketing collateral for their business, tailored advice or an introduction. We also partner with the National Tourism Offices and regional tourism authorities to deliver marketing campaigns and capacity building projects.



South Pacific Tourism Organisation

The South Pacific Tourism Organisation (SPTO) is the mandated inter-governmental organisation for the tourism sector in the South Pacific. Initially, it was founded in the early 1980s as the Tourism Council of the South Pacific, an informal association of South Pacific national tourism organisations. SPTO is an organisation with a membership that substantially represents both the public and private sectors.

Current full government member countries include the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Papua New Guinea, People's Republic of China, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tahiti, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. SPTO's private sector members include over 200 of the major tourism operators in the region.